#1 sir_bootalot

sir_bootalot

• Members
  • 41 posts
  •  
    Finland

Posted 14 June 2013 - 05:30 PM

Dudes,

I decided to start using Parental Controls for some extra malware protection in my Win7 64-bit Home Premium, because I can't use SRP with Home Premium version.

I'm new to using Parental Controls, but I set it up the way described here (in the short Parental Controls segment of this page, most of stuff there is for SRP):

http://www.mechbgon.com/srp/

After that I tried to make image of that instance of windows installation, and before that, I always do two steps to allow me using it easily on logical partitions too (at the moment I was doing this, this instance of Win7 was on the second primary partition, with all the boot files on the same partition too - the first primary is only 100MB and NOT used for Windows boot files, but only for grub4dos, and yes, this setup works normally well for me, and I have done it this way several times without problems).

Those two steps, I was going to do before taking the image:

1) generalization of BCD

2) emptying of the MountedDevices

However, setting up Parental Controls seems to prevent me the access to c:\boot\BCD (that is located on the second primary partition, meaning I have the second primary for both SYSTEM and BOOT).

I use a script to generalize BCD, where I have commands starting 'bcdedit /store c:\boot\bcd', but just in case I also tried typing the command 'bcdedit /store c:\boot\bcd' in command prompt but with similar results, windows complained I had no access to BCD (and yes, it is there on C:\boot).

When setting up Parental Controls, I made a new administrator level account with no password, and changed my original account to standard level where I set up the parental controls (and gave access to the different programs the way described in the mechbgon link).