Photo

How are the partitions in an Android device?

android partitions

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 alacran

alacran

Platinum Member

• .script developer
  • 2710 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 06 December 2013 - 07:35 AM

Zoso told me to start a new topic in order to get an answer for this question, (not doble posting)

I am new in Android, recently I bought a chinese tablet with Android 4.2.2 on it:

CPU: A20 (dual core)

Ram: 1 GB

Internal storage (SD): 4 GB (unused)

Display: 7" capacitive touch screan

Please explain me how are the partitions in an Android tablet?, I have installed Android 4.3 for x86 in Virtual Box using Ext3 format, but this doesn't helped me to understand the real world on a tablet.

#2 Zoso

Zoso

Silver Member

• Advanced user
  • 640 posts
  •  
    Isle of Man

Posted 06 December 2013 - 11:16 AM

hi alacran,

it was only a suggestion since your question was such a good one I thought it might get overlooked on the other thread. and I am also interested in the answer to it!

I did run across this XDA_DEV thread which has some info: http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1542857

to me it seems that they are considering different folders as separate partitions, not sure. it still seems like the different .img files in the full backup I made with ClockWorkMod recovery might also be mounted internally as separate partitions.

basically, I dont know for sure yet but keep us posted and I'll do the same.

thanks
  • alacran likes this

#3 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

The Finder

• Advanced user
  • 16066 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 06 December 2013 - 12:15 PM

to me it seems that they are considering different folders as separate partitions, not sure. 

No.

Like in Linux what you call "different folders" are "mountpoints" for actual partitons/volumes/block areas.

See:

http://www.all-thing...artition-layout

:cheers:

Wonko

• alacran likes this

#4 florin91

florin91

Frequent Member

• Team Reboot
  • 197 posts