MarkM82
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 January 2014 - 01:52 PM

This is my first post here!
In this forum (and others) I read several threads about write filters and their
installation on not-embedded Windows versions (XP and 7 Home/Pro).
My question is not technical, but only
about legal matters: is it legal to extract write filter program
files (dll, sys, exe...) from embedded versions and apply them to
desktop versions?
And is it free to redistribute them to users (even after the
acceptance of the EULA from Microsoft)? For example, if I leave them available for download on my website (not selling them! And specifying they're owned by Microsoft, copyrighted).

Since a user can download those files for free from Microsoft, it should be legal... but I'm not a lawyer and I don't understand law stuff easily :/

Thank you!

#2 Brito

Brito

Platinum Member

• .script developer
  • 10616 posts
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 January 2014 - 02:44 PM

There has been some precedent on what you ask. Some time ago we saw plenty of discussions with a similar issue around the WIM drivers that were only available as Microsoft files.

Many projects were redesigned not use them, while some projects still use them today, albeit in a very discrete (hidden) manner not to raise attention. On our case with the new winbuilder there is no need for MS files, we have our own code in place.

In regards to write filter, wouldn't WinvBlock or Firadisk help in your case?

http://reboot.pro/to...8168-winvblock/

http://reboot.pro/to...k-latest-00130/

From a legal point of view I'm unable to answer, you'd do better in contacting a lawyer and explain him your context.