Photo
- - - - -

disk read error, how to restore MBR and BCD (if this is it)

crc mbr bcd windows 7

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 matrix.rebooted

matrix.rebooted

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 04 September 2020 - 08:45 AM

Hello,

short story:

Disk have 3 partitions, all bootable, first is windows 7. After nvidia drivers (chipset+graphics) uninstall, get disk read error and partitions are now flagged as RAW but disk is ok and files can be access via gparted, parted magic, testdisk, what you want except windows (neither other win7 disk nor dvd). Problem is to restore disk's boot without formatting, have backup of MBR and BCD but how to restore? I have limited knowledge, tried to follow some howto but I'm a bit lost.

long story:

The computer is a Compaq, a bit outdated but still usefull, with Nvidia plateform (GeForce 6150SE nForce 430).
The hard drive has 3 partitions, all bootable: I kept original Vista to update bios if needed, as the HP recovery partition, in case, and added windows 7.

Recently some new event appeared (Event id: 129 Reset to device, \Device\RaidPort0, was issued) and after some readings about this nvidia 'bug' I decided to uninstall the drivers (chipset and graphic), and since then I get disk read error on boot and looking at the disk shows partitions are now flaged as RAW. Trying to access with win7 repair disk it says CRC error (cyclic redunduncy).

Drive is not dead and I can access files! (Plus, HDTune find the drive is healthy) But my problem is to restore the drive with it's mbr, boot sector and bcd, and, I have backup of them too! but how? (when install was ok, I made backup of MBR (512o) and PBR (8ko) using MBRbackup and bootice, and BCD file using easyBCD.

From what I have read, chkdsk could help but is to use in a last attempt since it may rewrite mbr and/or bcd.. Anyway, for now it fails on RAW partitions.