• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 B Gold

B Gold
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 October 2007 - 03:52 PM

Hi, I'm a linux newbie, though have played around with LiveCDs for some time
(am A+ certified, lotsa windoze experience FWIW)

The boot options for mixed systems (winxp, linux distro) seems a real horror show
either LiLO which (except for its devotees) seems supplanted by Grub
Which seems only an expert's appn (who else could type in a grub command line interactively...)
(chainloaders, mappings hooks etc)

Grub fails almost every time on my notebook PC
It worked for Puppy Linux but no other distro seems to 'know' how to modify an existing grub menu. insane!
I was only able to install DSL (grub) after i deleted the existing grldr

Which brings me to my objective and my question(s) (yes i have RTFM (grub4dos tutorial etc):
Objective:
keep using my XP boot.ini and use that to include grub4dos to load a linux distro (eg DSL)
which I have/will install to hda3 (ext2 fs) [which I guess grub calls hd(0,2)?]
Details:
I have done this successfully (AFAIR) w/ PuppyLinux; I know about "Distro"=c:\grldr
Question(s):

1. Is the "grldr in the grub4dos interchangeable with the grldr installed by a distro (eg DSL)?
2. If not/IOW, can I install a distro and access/copy its grldr into the grub4dos grldr?
can I use a windoze text editor or must this be conducted under linux?
3. IOW I want to use the grldr (commands) that DSL installs (IOW that work) but with the grldr for grub4dos (if specialized)
I don't much care where grldr as long as i can avoid the mbr option

IOW i cannot figure out from the tutorial etc exactly WHAT pieces of grub4DOS are different from GNU grub and what aren't-
is it the grub.mbr (and is that CALLED that even if not installed IN the mbr? I guess in the mbr it is what IBM calls an IPL,
initial program loader [should that be IBL?]<g>)? is it grldr? is it menu.lst (/rant or is that menu.1st and WHY oh WHY must linux use