Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

x64 versions of some frequently used utilities


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 22 October 2009 - 09:14 PM

Still Searching:
DriverSigning.exe (driverSigning.Script)

paraglider's utilties. :cheers:
Hwpnp - there will not be x64 version - Reason explained well on post 45
runscanner - there will not be x64 version - Reason explained well on post 45

Galapo utilities:
SetResolution.exe (SetResolution.script) (have some small bugy)
ScreenLock.script (now we have x64 , not tested)

Holger utilities:
Penetwork - x64 version available...(have some bugies, for now Holger working on other things of Penetwork)
screensaver.exe (DisplayProperties.Script) (Found - Holger wrote he will make a smaller c++ version in future)

FOUND:
RamStatus.exe
post 6-post23 of paraglider (Source code available ***)
post 15 of olegpov, working replacements with the previous output. :cheers:
post 28 of psc, a version giving more info which maybe useful for further developments. :cheers:

BroadcastEnvChange.exe
post 28 of psc ;)
BroadcastEnvChange source:
1) possible source file: BroadcastEnvChange_Info_200910232328.rar
2) first souce post here from Galapo, also follow to post 93.

hiderun.exe
post 31 of psc, now we have hiderun clone, hiderunex ;)

resshort.exe
post 33 of psc

old post 1

Peter adviced me to ask here, so here i am ;)

imdisk script (LiveXP) have RamStatus.exe x86, I need RamStatus.exe x64 but i dont know about compiling.

here is RamStatus.exe x86 from imdisk script
http://lancelot.winb...mStatus.exe.rar
and here is I guess the source.
http://lancelot.winb...mStatus.dpr.rar

Can anyone help ?


EDIT by psc: Here the actual source
Attached File  64_Bit.zip   12.81KB   1047 downloads ;)

#2 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 23 October 2009 - 06:31 AM

What are you trying to do?

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2009 - 07:13 AM

Sorry, Lancelot, I misunderstood you.

I thought that RamStatus is part of ImDisk.

This small App can also be ported to C++ and compiled to 64 bit.

Peter

#4 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 23 October 2009 - 07:26 AM

This small App can also be ported to C++ and compiled to 64 bit.
Peter

Yes it so
All Delphi do not support compilation x64 code
For compilation in Visual C ++ Express it is still necessary Windows Server 2008 SDK
http://social.msdn.m...f9-89a2bba3e9a9
http://social.msdn.m...a7-5b4124152801

But as I wrote earlier by email this program will give out erroneous data under following conditions:

On computers with more than 4 GB of memory, program can return incorrect information
On Intel x86 computers with more than 2 GB and less than 4 GB of memory, the
program will frequent can return 2 GB in 'Total Ram : '



#5 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1743 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2009 - 12:20 PM

You want GlobalMemoryStatusEx api:

// RamStatus.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.

//



#include <windows.h>

#include <stdio.h>

#include <tchar.h>



// Use to convert bytes to KB

#define DIV 1024



// Specify the width of the field in which to print the numbers. 

// The asterisk in the format specifier &#34;%*I64d&#34; takes an integer 

// argument and uses it to pad and right justify the number.

#define WIDTH 7





int _tmain&#40;int argc, _TCHAR* argv&#91;&#93;&#41;

{

  MEMORYSTATUSEX statex;



  statex.dwLength = sizeof &#40;statex&#41;;



  GlobalMemoryStatusEx &#40;&statex&#41;;



  printf &#40;&#34;There is  %*ld percent of memory in use.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.dwMemoryLoad&#41;;

  printf &#40;&#34;There are %*I64d total Kbytes of physical memory.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.ullTotalPhys/DIV&#41;;

  printf &#40;&#34;There are %*I64d free Kbytes of physical memory.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.ullAvailPhys/DIV&#41;;

  printf &#40;&#34;There are %*I64d total Kbytes of paging file.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.ullTotalPageFile/DIV&#41;;

  printf &#40;&#34;There are %*I64d free Kbytes of paging file.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.ullAvailPageFile/DIV&#41;;

  printf &#40;&#34;There are %*I64d total Kbytes of virtual memory.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.ullTotalVirtual/DIV&#41;;

  printf &#40;&#34;There are %*I64d free Kbytes of virtual memory.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.ullAvailVirtual/DIV&#41;;



  // Show the amount of extended memory available.



  printf &#40;&#34;There are %*I64d free Kbytes of extended memory.\n&#34;,

		  WIDTH, statex.ullAvailExtendedVirtual/DIV&#41;;



	return 0;

}


#6 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1743 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2009 - 12:23 PM

Downloadable from here:

http://www.paraglide...mp/RamStatus.7z

#7 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 23 October 2009 - 01:34 PM

Thanks a lot paraglider

I am trying to syncronise ramdisk x86 with ramdisk x64 so both can use same batch.
Ramstatus.cmd
for /f &#34;usebackq skip=1 tokens=3 delims=&#58; &#34; %%i in &#40;&#96;RamStatus.exe&#96;&#41; do set size=%%i

I **guess current ramdisk x86 uses sth like this:

printf ("Total Ram : %*I64d Kb\n",
WIDTH, statex.ullTotalPhys/DIV);
printf ("Free Ram : %*I64d Kb\n",
WIDTH, statex.ullAvailPhys/DIV);


for now i will use a seperate batch for ramdisk x64 you provided, but it will be easier to sync if possible.

Thanks a lot. ;)

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2009 - 04:10 PM

Do you need this?
Attached File  RamStatus.zip   6.5KB   856 downloads

Peter

#9 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 23 October 2009 - 08:45 PM

Hi Peter,

Thanks a lot, is it the new ramstatus for imdisk script ?!

reason i ask is:

current ramstatus of imdisk script is shown with "ramstatus" line
paraglider's version is after "ramstatus_paraglider"
psc's versions is after "ramstatus_psc_x64" & "ramstatus_psc_x86"
Posted Image

my suggestion is to follow old syntax for backward compatility with the additional infos of paraglider's version.

so when ramstatus_x86 or ramstatus_x64 executed we get (with using numbers of the test I made to give example)

E&#58;\1>ramstatus_x64

Total Ram &#58; 2096120 Kb

Free Ram &#58; 1260612 Kb

Free Percent &#58; 39

Total Paging File &#58; 6144800 Kb

Free Paging File &#58; 5551072

Total Virtual Memory &#58; 8589934464 Kb

Free Virtual Memory &#58; 8589927360 Kb

Free Extended Memory&#58; 0 Kb



E&#58;\1>ramstatus_x86

Total Ram &#58; 2096120 Kb

Free Ram &#58; 1260612 Kb

Free Percent &#58; 39

Total Paging File &#58; 6144800 Kb

Free Paging File &#58; 5551072

Total Virtual Memory &#58; 8589934464 Kb

Free Virtual Memory &#58; 8589927360 Kb

Free Extended Memory&#58; 0 Kb

as a result we wont need to change single line on scripts/batches with the gain of having more versions (x86/x64) with more info that maybe used by further developments. Or, we can change the batches for new output if it is what you want.
Up to you?

What you think?

Ps:
Topic moved to a more proper section which I guess you would like more. :cheers:
Also I changed topic title and post #1 hoping you like to put things together properly ;)

#10 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2009 - 10:38 PM

I just commented out Paraglider's additional lines and recompiled 32 and 64 bit.

I think that you are right to have the 'old' format for compatibility.

Here it is:
Attached File  RamStatus.zip   6.71KB   861 downloads

Peter

#11 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 23 October 2009 - 10:43 PM

one more mini thing, : missing after Free RAM

Total RAM : 2096120 Kb
Free RAM 1178800 Kb



#12 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2009 - 10:52 PM

See post #10

Peter

#13 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 23 October 2009 - 10:58 PM

WONDERFUL ;)

ps: I also added broadcastenv to the bottom of list at post 1 when you find time.

Good night, thanks a lot.

#14 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 24 October 2009 - 01:01 AM

Peter,

there is sth wrong at your versions on post 10

ramstatus_x86.exe do NOT work on x86 hostos
ramstatus_x64.exe do NOT work on x64 where there is no wow64 (PEx64)
both ramstatus_x86.exe and ramstatus_x64.exe works on my hostos where wow64 exists.

Maybe it helps, ramstatus of paraglider works on x64 where there is no wow64 (PEx64)

#15 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 05:26 AM

While I wasted time on downloading SDK for Win2008, People already on full has a good time with the compiler from MS ;)

@ Lancelot
Try this

Attached Files



#16 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 October 2009 - 07:29 AM

Peter,

there is sth wrong at your versions on post 10

ramstatus_x86.exe do NOT work on x86 hostos
ramstatus_x64.exe do NOT work on x64 where there is no wow64 (PEx64)
both ramstatus_x86.exe and ramstatus_x64.exe works on my hostos where wow64 exists.

Maybe it helps, ramstatus of paraglider works on x64 where there is no wow64 (PEx64)

I think that I confused something when compiling or renaming the two versions. ;)

Peter

EDIT: It works as intended.

x64 works on x64 OS only, independent from x64 or x86 hardware.
x86 works on x86 and x64 OS.

I have no idea (if it is possible) how to compile that x64 runs on x64 hardware with x86 OS

#17 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 October 2009 - 07:34 AM

While I wasted time on downloading SDK for Win2008, People already on full has a good time with the compiler from MS ;)

To save you a bit of time:

Besides the links you gave (and which have been a very good help for me).

These two are helpful to build a working 64 bit environment in VCExpress:

http://jenshuebel.wo...64-bit-targets/
http://suma.soulogic...dl/VCE64BIT.zip

Peter

#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 October 2009 - 09:07 AM

ps: I also added broadcastenv to the bottom of list at post 1 when you find time.

Done
Attached File  BroadcastEnvChange.zip   29.23KB   842 downloads
Peter

#19 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 24 October 2009 - 11:33 AM

@olegpov
It works perfectly :cheers: ;)

maybe you have an idea why psc's editions dont work here?

@psc

It works as intended.

:cheers:
both ramstatus at post 10 and BroadcastEnvChange at post 18 not working here

Here is a simple test, I hope others can confirm too.
I copy ramstatus_x86.exe and broadcastenvchange_x86.exe to XPSP2x86enu hostos, and took this picture, I hope it helps.
Posted Image

@all
can anyone test broadcastenvchange_x86.exe (post18) and ramstatus_x86.exe (post10) working on xpsp2x86, or is it only me?

#20 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 11:43 AM

@olegpov
maybe you have an idea why psc's editions dont work here?

Yes I know why do not work
The answer is simple adjustments of the compiler

@psc
In properties of the project the General adjustments it is necessary to establish Use MFC in static library

#21 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 11:46 AM

@all
I suggest to publish all programs with an source code.

#22 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 24 October 2009 - 11:52 AM

The answer is simple adjustments of the compiler

THanks a looooooooooooooot ;) :cheers:

I suggest to publish all programs with an source code.

I agree since it helps coders (not me) to find out things more easly when required. (maybe one day i may learn too :>) :cheers:

#23 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1743 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2009 - 12:05 PM

I updated my download so it only outputs the total / free:

Total RAM : 6282356 Kb
Free RAM : 4432484 Kb


http://www.paraglide...mp/RamStatus.7z

#24 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 24 October 2009 - 12:10 PM

Can we have example output, maybe in future some other would find the provided info useful for another task
Example:
Posted Image

#25 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 October 2009 - 01:56 PM

This is on my system, without linking mfc library, unlike olegpov suggested.
psc_x64.gif

:cheers: ??

I see only the difference SP2 / SP3

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users