Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

nativeEx_Win7


  • Please log in to reply
216 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:02 PM

Let me start with some timing values:

In Win7RescuePE, a minimum build (PE booting with explorer, no apps, no addiotional drivers) in my system is built like this:
win7rescuepe.gif
After replacing two Win7RescuePE scripts by my scripts, here the build log:
win7Ex_1.gif
That's nothing what can make somebody excited!
But now have a look at the next build:
win7Ex_2.gif
And a build time for a minimized PE of 2 - 3 minutes compared with 10 - 20 minutes is a :dubbio:

Let me explain the HowTo:
Win7RescuePE uses WAIK / imagex.exe.
It mounts a *.wim at every build, copies files from the mounted folder to the %target%
And finally it Unmounts the mounted folder.

My solution does not need any WAIK installed. It "Exports" the contents of a *.wim in the very first access of that *.wim into a cache.
On every next access of the *.wim the cache is used.
BTW: The name of the cached *.wim contains all unique info. Therefore a different source CD will be cached under a new name.
Sample name of a cached file: Boot_2_de-DE_0_6.1.7600.16385.0

If you look carefully into the timing reports:

To copy files from a mounted *.wim needs much more time than to copy from an exported wim.

Now the second 'HowTo' working w/o WAIK: Look at this post.

I combined the ideas of 'No WAIK' and 'No Mount' into a new project: nativeEx_Win7

nativeEx_Win7 currently consists of only script.project and two scripts.
Everything else is 'stolen' (by links) from the Win7RescuePE project.

Therefore, if you want to test nativeEx_Win7, you previously have to download and configure Win7RescuePE

To test:

Have a running Win7RescuePE project
  • Download nativeEx_Win7 (inside WinBuilder download center, accessing nativeEx server)
  • Define (as usual) your source CD
  • To save time for the first test, uncheck ALL Apps, Drivers etc. Have only 'Build' and 'Finalize' checked
  • Choose (maybe install first) your emulator
  • Build!
A possible issue: This solution needs 7z.exe version 4.65 or higher insalled. I currently check and abort in case of a lower version.
But I did not yet include the option to download.

Peter

#2 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:38 PM

Hey psc,

I got a problem downloading your new project ... after downloading I get the message "Invalid Filename" and winbuilder crashes. After that I get this error message every time I start winbuilder. I have to manually delete the project and then winbuilder starts as usually

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:54 PM

Hey psc,

I got a problem downloading your new project ... after downloading I get the message "Invalid Filename" and winbuilder crashes. After that I get this error message every time I start winbuilder. I have to manually delete the project and then winbuilder starts as usually


I know, and I got it, too.
That's an issue of WinBuilder (I hope I can fix it in the next release) and happens when you use nativeEx_win7, but do not have the linked Win7ResycuePE files.
If there is a .Link to a non-existing file, WinBuilder crashes.

By installing, running / building with (the .Link target) Win7RescuePE, this issue should be solved.
If there are still trouble (sorry) try to solve manually:
Browse the nativeEx_Win7 folder for *.Link files and look into them.
The Link=<filename> must exist. If not, either provide that target, or delete this *.Link file (your decision, I cannot sugest a universal solution)

Peter

#4 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 19 November 2009 - 06:53 PM

thx psc ...
my first try throws 3 faults (filecopy and dircopy)

Edit..:: iso was created but not bootable
chainloader /BOOTMGR
error 15 : file not found

#5 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 19 November 2009 - 06:57 PM

@psc
Peter
Probably I do that that not correctly at attempt start of the build.
In Build time in script ManageWimsEx I receive error:

Unable to create directory: [DirMake,%ProjectCache%]

Where I could be mistaken?

#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 November 2009 - 07:27 PM

@patsch
@olegpov:

thanks for reporting your issues.

I tried with downloading into an empty dir, and I did not have any troubles.

I'm going to try again (maybe there is a dependency on my Win7RescuePE version ...)

Peter

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 November 2009 - 07:44 PM

thx psc ...
my first try throws 3 faults (filecopy and dircopy)

Edit..:: iso was created but not bootable
chainloader /BOOTMGR
error 15 : file not found

Try to build a 'minimum', w/o MMC, NIC drivers, PENetwork, Explorer tweaks.

These all are options to add later ...

Thanks

Peter

#8 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 20 November 2009 - 05:28 AM

@psc
Peter
In Build time value of a variable %BaseDir % is lost. Now I use WB 77RC2
Probably I use not that version WB?
After addition
System,REBUILDVARS
In [process] section on ManageWimsEx.script
&#91;process&#93;

Exec,%ImageIndexScript%,CheckSource

AddVariables,%ProjectDir%\script.project,Variables

System,REBUILDVARS

If,Not,EXISTDIR,%ProjectCache%,DirMake,%ProjectCache%

ExtractAllFilesIfNotExist,%ScriptFile%,Folder,%Tools%

If,%WOW64%,EQUAL,True,FileCopy,%Tools%\WimCaptEx_x64.exe,%Tools%\WimCaptEx.exe

Else,FileCopy,%Tools%\WimCaptEx_x86.exe,%Tools%\WimCaptEx.exe

Run,%WimManagerScript%,Open,Boot

If,%pCheckBox2%,EQUAL,True,Run,%WimManagerScript%,Open,Install

Now Build process stops on other error Now I can not inform on what there is no time it is time to come to work. In the evening I shall necessarily inform.

PS. My host os - WinXp Home SP3 x86

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 November 2009 - 09:12 AM

I did:

Use WB 078 SP4

Install Win7RescuePE as only project into "C:\Scratch\Neuer Ordner" (name with space).

Unchecked all Apps Drivers etc. Only "Build" and "Finalize" left.

Replaced the original VirtualBox script by a newer version which detects also newer versions of VirtualBox

The built PE booted well.

Then I added nativeEx_Win7 project (recommended).

Define Source CD and build.

The built PE booted well.

I have also xp sp3 x86, German

depending on your (propably Russian) OS language?

Peter

#10 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 20 November 2009 - 09:18 PM

Use WB 078 SP4

Install Win7RescuePE as only project into "C:\Scratch\Neuer Ordner" (name with space).

Unchecked all Apps Drivers etc. Only "Build" and "Finalize" left.

Replaced the original VirtualBox script by a newer version which detects also newer versions of VirtualBox

The built PE booted well.

Then I added nativeEx_Win7 project (recommended).

Define Source CD and build.

All works well up to this place
Here at me build stops on one of errors
The first error: Attached File  log1.7z   5.63KB   604 downloads Files: wimgapi.dll, wimserv.exe and wimmount.sys are there where and it is necessary
All necessary records in the registry for the driver wimmount.sys are available

The second error:Attached File  log2.7z   7.68KB   558 downloads
These errors appear it is chaotic.

It would be desirable to try nativeEx_Win7, but unfortunately probably not destiny :dubbio:

#11 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 20 November 2009 - 10:06 PM

Try to build a 'minimum', w/o MMC, NIC drivers, PENetwork, Explorer tweaks.

have done it and the errors still occur
I even tried to reproduce your build:
http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=84831
but this does not work for me.

#12 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 20 November 2009 - 10:43 PM

So you have fallen prey to the dark side of the force after all, Peter? ;)

:dubbio:

#13 acus

acus

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 November 2009 - 08:08 AM

Hi all,

the file project.ini contains some paths related to the psc installation.

It is necessary to change these paths:

--> WimTools=C:\WINDOWS\System32\Dism.exe
--> imagex=V:\Windows _AIK\\Tools\x86\imagex.exe
--> Language=de-DE
SourceType=Win7CD
--> SourceDir=Q:\CDs Standard\W7_32_DE_ENT_7600
--> SystemFiles=V:\wb\wb debug\Temp\Win7RescuePE\InstallWimSrc

regards

#14 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 21 November 2009 - 08:35 AM

Hi all,

the file project.ini contains some paths related to the psc installation.

It is necessary to change these paths:

--> WimTools=C:\WINDOWS\System32\Dism.exe
--> imagex=V:\Windows _AIK\\Tools\x86\imagex.exe
--> Language=de-DE
SourceType=Win7CD
--> SourceDir=Q:\CDs Standard\W7_32_DE_ENT_7600
--> SystemFiles=V:\wb\wb debug\Temp\Win7RescuePE\InstallWimSrc

regards

These are left / copied from a previous run of Win7RescuePE. For nativeEx_Win7 they are not used.

I'll correct the upload.

Thanks

Peter

#15 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 21 November 2009 - 10:43 PM

thx Peter,

with your changes I have made my first successful build (minimal version). Now I will try a personalized version with my own scripts

Edit..::
a.) works good now
b.) your common_api.script is outdated (yours is V15, the actual version is afaik V17). With your version I have many syntax warnings, with V17 not.

#16 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 22 November 2009 - 08:33 AM

@psc
Peter I managed to start this project on my system.

Here my comments:

1.I do not know a bug it WinCaptEx_x86.exe or not On my system the project began to work only after I have copied wimmount.sys file in a folder %Tools % there where is WinCaptEx.exe

2.There is one more remark if on a disk not enough place for Cache, but the script stops with a error, and Cache folder cannot be removed to me it was necessary to use Unloker.

#17 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 November 2009 - 05:46 PM

@olegpov
Sorry for your inconvenience!
And Thanks for your help!

Issue #1 should be fixed with WimCaptEx version 3.4.0.

Main changes:
  • The version tests for wimgapi.dll, wimserv.exe and wimmount.sys are only informative.
    The program is not stopped when one file is missing
    The necessary checks are later done in the single actions.
  • Now wimmount.sys is detected using the OS's service manager
Issue #2 is more critical.
When the program crashes because of an OS exception, it is very difficult to free handles, memory, etc.

I'll try to add a check for available disk space.
Then WimCaptEx can exit with an error if there is not enough space.

Peter

#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 November 2009 - 05:48 PM

b.) your common_api.script is outdated (yours is V15, the actual version is afaik V17). With your version I have many syntax warnings, with V17 not.

Thanks!

That depends on building the project from a copy of Win7RescuePE version 13.

I'll change.

Peter

#19 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 23 November 2009 - 02:05 AM

I just made my successfull build :cheers: :dubbio:

#20 Virtual-R

Virtual-R

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 145 posts
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 30 November 2009 - 09:26 AM

Succsesfully build this with tip from psc post #9!
Great Work! Build time is now minimized using nativeEx_Win7 with Win7RescuePE!

Thanx alot, GREAT Work!!!!

#21 Virtual-R

Virtual-R

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 145 posts
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 01 December 2009 - 09:34 AM

Hmm, found one thing that doesn't work (for me anyway) :clap: . Most of my programs using shortcuts in startmenu doesn't appear there. The odd thing is, that programs that need runscanner to work appears correct in the startmenu, programs that use normal statmenu-shortcuts does not work.
I do not have this problem when running without nativeex...

For example, Hijackthis works:

[codebox] [ShortCuts] Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,Threats\AntiMalware,"%SystemRoot%\System32\Runscanner.exe",,,"/t 0 /ac /sd /y /m+ %SystemRoot%\System32\HijackThis.exe"

[process]
Run,%ScriptFile%,ShortCuts
[/codebox]

On the other hand, this does not work (a simple plugin for free photoviewer.)

[codebox]
[ShortCuts]
Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,Accessories

[process]
Run,%ScriptFile%,ShortCuts
[/codebox]

Here is a picture that shows it:

As you see, Accessories is empty.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.png


#22 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1743 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 December 2009 - 12:34 PM

Did you define 3 variables:

[Variables]
%ProgramTitle%=TrueCrypt 6.3a
%ProgramEXE%=TrueCrypt.exe
%ProgramFolder%=TrueCrypt

These are required for Add_Shortcut to work with no file name parameters specified. Here is an example script that works:

[Main]
Title=TrueCrypt 6
Type=script
Selected=True
Level=3
Author=Paraglider
Credits=http://www.truecrypt.org

[Variables]
%ProgramTitle%=TrueCrypt 6.3a
%ProgramEXE%=TrueCrypt.exe
%ProgramFolder%=TrueCrypt

[Process]
ReadENV
RunFromRam
Run,%ScriptFile%,WinntDirectories
Run,%ScriptFile%,SourceDisksFiles
Run,%ScriptFile%,ShortCuts

[WinntDirectories]
Echo,"Making new directories.."
DirMake,%target_prog%\%ProgramFolder%

[SourceDisksFiles]
Echo,"Copying files.."
FileCopy,"%ScriptDir%\Files\*.*",%target_prog%\%ProgramFolder%

[ShortCuts]
Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,"Drive Tools"

#23 Virtual-R

Virtual-R

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 145 posts
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 01 December 2009 - 01:38 PM

Hello again! My own fault that I didn't wrote out the whole script.

Yes, I always use these variables too.

This time I won't be lazy, this is how my plugins look like, and once again, they do work without nativeEx.

For example, theses two scripts does not work:

[codebox][main] Title=CheckDisk Description=Microsoft CheckDisk GUI Selected=True Level=5 Version=1 [variables] %ProgramTitle%=CheckDisk %ProgramEXE%=checkdisk.exe %ProgramFolder%=HD Utilities\CheckDisk [process] Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,HD Utilities unpack [EncodedFolders] Folder [Folder] checkdisk.exe=287249,382999 [EncodedFile-Folder-checkdisk.exe] lines=93 0=eJzsuX88k+3/P7wxM5ybxAq2H8uDuz/ ... (AND SO ON....) [/codebox] [codebox] [Main] Title=Free Photo Viewer Description=A good free photo viewer Selected=True Level=5 Version=1 [Variables] %ProgramTitle%=Free Photo Viewer %ProgramEXE%=FreePhotoViewer.exe %ProgramFolder%=Accessories\Free Photo Viewer [Process] unpack Run,%ScriptFile%,ShortCuts [ShortCuts] Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,Accessories [EncodedFolders] Folder EncodedFile-Folder-en.lng] lines=2 0=eJytXXlv20iW/3sN (AND SO ON....) [Folder] en.lng=7923,10564 FreePhotoViewer.exe=671205,894940 FreePhotoViewer.ini=453,604 help.chm=10705,14274 IJL15.DLL=142021,189362 MSdcRAW.dll=138663,184884 whatsnew.txt=355,474 [EncodedFile-Folder-FreePhotoViewer.exe] lines=218 (and all the code for all the files goes on)..... [/codebox]But this script DO work:[codebox][main]Title=License CrawlerDescription=Adds License Crawler 0.0.40, loaded via Runscanner, for searching software license keys in Windows installations.Selected=TrueLocked=trueLevel=5Version=1NoWarning=FalseDownload_Level=0 [Variables] %ProgramFolder%=Analyze\License Crawler %ProgramEXE%=LicCrowler.exe %ProgramTitle%=License Crawler [Process] Unpack run,%ScriptFile%,ShortCuts [ShortCuts]
Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,Analyze,"%SystemRoot%\System32\Runscanner.exe",,,"/t 0 /ac /sd /y /m+ %PE_Programs%\%ProgramFolder%\%ProgramEXE%"

[EncodedFolders]
Folder

[EncodedFile-Folder-LCScanr.exe]
lines=23
(Code blabla...)
[/codebox]

#24 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 December 2009 - 01:57 PM

Can you run one of the non-working scripts, and post the log.
Additionally log of the working script.

Peter

#25 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 01 December 2009 - 02:09 PM

isn't the problem that
when you do not set the 'RunFromRam' then
as default
%PE_Programs%=#$pCDDrive#$p\Programs
will be used

i.e. the program will be placed in the 'Programs' folder in the root of the CD (or in the root of the UFD)
and no shortcuts generated to the programs which located here caused by the 'win7peldr' loader's bug?




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users