#1 JohnBug

JohnBug
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 13 April 2008 - 12:37 AM

Hi,
I'm new to winbuilder, I followed your tutorial and everything worked first shot.
I really like that ramboot which makes PE run nice and smooth.
Thank you for writing a clear quick and easy tut :thumbsup:

The only thing I'm missing is a way to make this project boot from usb disk or memory stick.
I maybe off topic but can anyone explain how to do this?

BTW I used the smaller streamlined project from the tutorial.

Thanks again

#2 wanderer

wanderer

• Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 13 April 2008 - 10:38 AM

Hi JohnBug,

Get PeToUSB.

http://gocoding.com/....php?al=petousb

Check "Enable LBA (FAT16X) and "Enable File Copy", set "Overwrite Always".

Point to C:\lx40308ln\Target\LiveXP

Greetz

#3 JohnBug

JohnBug
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 13 April 2008 - 02:03 PM

Hi Wanderer,

Thanks for the reply.
I tried what said and it doesn't work. The project is copied to the usb stick but when i try to boot from it all i get is a black screen with a blinking cursor(nothing).
i'm using a Sandisk cruzer 2Gb memory stick and the PC is HP pavillion dv6000 laptop.
Could it be that it doesn't work with all combinations?

:thumbsup:

#4 wanderer

wanderer

• Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 13 April 2008 - 02:14 PM

Hi JohnBug,

I have also a Sandisk cruzer 2Gb,so that cant be the problem.

I donnt no for sure,but maybe the HP pavillion dv6000 is the problem?

Could you boot the stick with dos files from the HP pavillion dv6000?

Please tell what directory's and files are on the USB-stick after PeToUSB.

Greetz

#5 amalux

amalux

Platinum Member

• Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 April 2008 - 04:22 PM

Hi Wanderer,

Thanks for the reply.
I tried what said and it doesn't work. The project is copied to the usb stick but when i try to boot from it all i get is a black screen with a blinking cursor(nothing).